Fifteen scholars from the University of California have been newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences. They are among 84 new members named to the prestigious organization.

They bring UC's total number of members to 584.

Established by congressional order and signed into existence by Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the academy acts as an official science and technology adviser to the federal government. Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist.

New members, by campus, include:

UC Berkeley

  • Martin Head-Gordon, Kenneth S. Pitzer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry
  • Jitendra Malik, Arthur J. Chick Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, department of electrical engineering and computer sciences
  • Daniel M. Neumark, chair and Joel Hildebrand Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry
  • Eva Nogales, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Jeremy Thorner, professor, division of biochemistry and molecular biology

UC Davis

  • Alan Hastings, distinguished professor, department of environmental science and policy

UC Irvine

  • Shaul Mukamel, distinguished professor of chemistry, department of chemistry


  • James C. Liao, Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Professor and chair, chemical and biomolecular engineering department
  • Glen M. MacDonald, UC Presidential Chair and distinguished professor, departments of geography and of ecology and evolutionary biology, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
  • Jeffery F. Miller, M. Philip Davis Chair in Microbiology and Immunology and chair, department of microbiology, immunology, and molecular genetics

UC San Diego

  • Harvey J. Karten, professor of neurosciences and psychiatry
  • Julian I. Schroeder, full professor and Novartis Chair in Plant Sciences, division of biological sciences
  • Jeffrey P. Severinghaus, professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Lisa Tauxe, distinguished professor of geophysics, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

UC Santa Barbara

  • Joseph Incandela, professor, department of physics