UC Irvine Randerson

Credit: Steve Zylius/UC Irvine

UC Irvine earth system scientist James Randerson, a new member of the National Academy of Sciences, uses satellite data and climate models to predict change in the planet’s various ecosystems.

Nine members of the University of California faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist.

They are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates in this year’s class.

They bring UC’s total number of members to 602.

New members, by campus, include:

UC Berkeley

  • Mary K. Firestone, professor of environmental science policy and management and associate dean of instruction and student affairs

UC Davis

  • Jodi M. Nunnari, professor of molecular and cellular biology

UC Irvine

  • James T. Randerson, professor of earth system science


  • Claudio Pellegrini, distinguished professor emeritus of physics and astronomy

UC San Diego

  • Christopher K. Glass, professor of cellular and molecular medicine and professor of medicine


  • Robert Haas Edwards, professor of neurology and physiology
  • Richard M. Locksley, Marion and Herbert Sandler Distinguished Professorship in Asthma Research and professor of medicine (infectious diseases)
  • Patrick H. O’Farrell, professor of biochemistry and biophysics

UC Santa Cruz

  • James C. Zachos, professor of earth and planetary sciences

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit society established by Congress and signed into existence by Abraham Lincoln in 1863 to provide objective advice to the nation. Members are elected by their peers, and the academy is committed to furthering science in the United States. Past recipients of the honor include Albert Einstein, Robert Oppenheimer, Thomas Edison, Orville Wright and Alexander Graham Bell.