UC Berkeley AAAS members

Credit: UC Berkeley

A gallery of UC Berkeley's newest members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. In the top row, left to right, are Kathleen Collins, Malcolm Feeley, Kris Gutierrez, Daniel Kammen and Dacher Keltner. In the bottom row, left to right, are Chung-Pei Ma, Edward Miguel, Richmond Sarpong and Marjorie Shapiro.

The National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences announced the newest additions to their prestigious ranks in past weeks, adding 12 and 22 members of UC faculty, respectively.

The National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1863, is a private, nonprofit organization of the country’s leading researchers that elects new members each year in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Election to the National Academy of Sciences is considered one of the highest honors in science. Members serve as pro bono ”advisers to the nation” on matters related to science, medicine and engineering.

The class of 2020 includes 12 new UC faculty, who now join an elite group of 2,403 domestic members and 501 international members.

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences is both an honorary society that recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members and an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions and perspectives to address significant challenges. More than 13,500 members have been elected since 1780, when it was founded by John Adams, John Hancock and others.

Its newest class of members includes 276 artists, scholars, scientists and leaders, among them 22 from UC.

Congratulations to all of UC’s newly elected members in both academies. They are:

National Academy of Sciences

UCSD NAS members
UC San Diego's new National Academy of Sciences members, clockwise from top left, Dmitri Basov, Lawrence Goldstein, Terence Hwa, Clifford Kubiak, Kimberly Prather
Credit: UC San Diego

Yifan Cheng, UC San Francisco; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor, department of biochemistry and biophysics

Ellen R.M. Druffel, UC Irvine; Fred Kavli Chair in Earth System Science and distinguished professor of earth system science, department of earth system science

Lawrence S. Goldstein, UC San Diego; director, Sanford Consortium for Regenerative Medicine and UC San Diego Stem Cell Program, and professor, department of cellular and molecular medicine, School of Medicine

James H. Hurley, Berkeley Lab, UC Berkeley; Judy C. Webb Chair and professor of biochemistry, biophysics, and structural biology, department of molecular and cell biology

Terence T. Hwa, UC San Diego; co-director, specialization in quantitative biology, and distinguished professor, department and division of biological sciences and department of physics

Clifford P. Kubiak, UC San Diego; distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry, Harold C. Urey Chair in Chemistry, department of chemistry and biochemistry

Francis Nimmo, UC Santa Cruz; professor, department of earth and planetary sciences

Kimberly A. Prather, UC San Diego; professor and distinguished chair in atmospheric chemistry, Scripps Institute of Oceanography

Eliot Quataert, UC Berkeley; professor of astronomy and physics, department of astronomy,

John Rubenstein, UC San Francisco; Nina Ireland Distinguished Professor in Child Psychiatry, department of psychiatry

Peter Tontonoz, UCLA; professor and Frances and Albert Pianksy Chair, department of pathology and laboratory medicine

F. Dean Toste, Berkeley Lab, UC Berkeley; Gerald E.K. Branch Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry


American Academy of Arts & Sciences

UCLA American Academy of Arts and Sciences members
UCLA's new American Academy of Arts & Sciences members, clockwise from top left: Lynn Vavreck, Ann Philbin, Jennifer Mnookin, Miguel García-Garibay, Mary Nichols and Pedro Noguera.
Credit: UCLA/Stuart Wolpert

Paul M. Churchland, UC San Diego; professor, emeritus, department of philosophy

Kathleen Collins, UC Berkeley; professor, department of molecular & cell biology

Malcolm Feeley, UC Berkeley; Claire Sanders Clements Dean’s Professor of Law, emeritus

Elena Fuentes-Afflick, UC San Francisco; professor and vice chair of pediatrics, chief of pediatrics at the Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital, and vice dean for Academic Affairs in the School of Medicine

Miguel A. Garcia-Garibay, UCLA; professor and dean of physical sciences

Vicki H. Grassian, UC San Diego; distinguished professor and chair, distinguished chair of physical chemistry, department of chemistry and biochemistry, co-director, Center for Aerosol Impacts on Climate and the Environment

Kris D. Gutierrez, UC Berkeley; Carol Liu Chair in Educational Policy and professor of language, literacy and culture

Daniel Kammen, UC Berkeley; professor of energy in the Energy and Resources Group, the Goldman School of Public Policy, and the department of nuclear engineering; director of the Renewable and Appropriate Energy Lab (RAEL)

Dacher Keltner, UC Berkeley; founding director of the Greater Good Science Center and professor of psychology

Margaret S. Leinen, UC San Diego; vice chancellor for marine sciences, director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography, dean of the School of Marine Sciences

Chung-Pei Ma, UC Berkeley; Judy Chandler Webb Professor in the physical sciences, professor of astronomy and physics

Gary S. May, UC Davis; chancellor

Edward A. Miguel, UC Berkeley; Oxfam Professor in Environmental and Resource Economics, faculty director of the Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA)

Jennifer L. Mnookin, UCLA; Dean, Ralph and Shirley Shapiro Professor of Law, faculty co-director, PULSE @ UCLA Law (Program on Understanding Law, Science & Evidence

Mary D. Nichols, UCLA; professor-in-residence, currently serves as Chairman of the California Air Resources Board

Pedro A. Noguera, UCLA; distinguished professor of education at the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies

Ann Philbin, UCLA; Hammer Museum Director

Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, UC Santa Cruz; professor of astronomy and astrophysics

Richmond Sarpong, UC Berkeley; professor of chemistry

Marjorie D. Shapiro, UC Berkeley; professor of physics

Lynn Vavreck, UCLA; Marvin Hoffenberg Professor of American Politics and Public Policy

David G. Victor, UC San Diego; professor of international relations at the School of Global Policy and Strategy, director of the Laboratory on International Law and Regulation (ILAR)