Nineteen UC faculty have been selected for 2016 Sloan Research Fellowships, an award given to early-career scientists and scholars who have been deemed “rising stars" likely to emerge as the next generation of scientific leaders.

Fellows receive $55,000 to further their research.

“Getting early-career support can be a make-or-break moment for a young scholar,” said Paul L. Joskow, President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, in announcing this year’s winners. “In an increasingly competitive academic environment, it can be difficult to stand out, even when your work is first rate. The Sloan Research Fellowships have become an unmistakable marker of quality among researchers. Fellows represent the best of the best among young scientists.”

The fellowship honors faculty in chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences and physics.

Sloan fellows are nominated for the award by their academic peers, and then selected by an independent panel of scholars who assess nominees for their research accomplishments, creativity, and their potential to become a leader in their field.

For 2016, Sloan named 126 fellows who represent 52 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. 

UC Sloan fellows

UC Berkeley

Gloria Brar, computational and evolutionary molecular biology
Hernan Garcia, physics
Evan W. Miller, chemistry
Surjeet Rajendran, physics
Nikhil Srivastava, mathematics
Ke Xu, chemistry
Nir Yosef, computational and evolutionary molecular biology
Wenjun Zhang, chemistry

UC Davis

Megan Dennis, neuroscience

UC Irvine

Franklin Dollar, physics
Chang Liu, computational and evolutionary molecular biology


Leonardo Bursztyn, economics
Artem Chernikov, mathematics
Elaine Hsiao, neuroscience

UC San Francisco

Dengke Ma, neuroscience

UC San Diego

Julio Barreiro, physics
Charles Sprenger, economics

UC Santa Cruz

Kristy Kroeke, ocean sciences
Andrew Skemer, physics