Katherine Mackey Sloan

Credit: Steve Zylius/UC Irvine

Katherine Mackey, UC Irvine's Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor of Earth System Science, is the recipient of a 2017 Sloan Research Fellowship.

Twenty-two early-career scientists and scholars from eight University of California campuses have been awarded Sloan Research Fellowships in recognition of their promise as emerging leaders in their fields.

The fellowships are awarded to researchers for their distinguished performance, creativity and unique potential to make meaningful contributions to the scientific community.

The 2017 fellows each receive $60,000 to pursue research in chemistry, computational or evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, ocean sciences or physics.

“The Sloan Research Fellows are the rising stars of the academic community,” said Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. “Through their achievements and ambition, these young scholars are transforming their fields and opening up entirely new research horizons. We are proud to support them at this crucial stage of their careers.”

Daniel Weisz
Credit: UC Berkeley

UC Sloan fellows

UC Berkeley

Ren Ng, computer science

Pierre Simon, mathematics

Reed Walker, economics

Daniel Weisz, physics

Michael Yartsev, neuroscience

UC Davis

Fereydoun Hormozdiari, computational and evolutionary molecular biology

UC Irvine

Shane Ardo, chemistry

Katherine Mackey, ocean sciences


Ming Lee Tang
Credit: UC Riverside

Pablo Fajgelbaum, economics

Weizhe Hong, neuroscience

Sriram Sankararaman, computational and evolutionary molecular biology

Alexander Spokoyny, chemistry

UC Riverside

Ming Lee Tang, chemistry

UC San Diego

Siavash Mirarab
Credit: UC San Diego

Kamil Godula, chemistry

Tarun Grover, physics

Daniel Kane, computer science

Sergey Kryazhimskiy, computational and evolutionary molecular biology

Siavash Mirarab, computational and evolutionary molecular biology

Jérémie Palacci, physics

UC Santa Barbara

Stefano Tessaro, computer science

Andrea Young, physics

UC Santa Cruz

Russell Corbett-Detig, computational and evolutionary molecular biology