Twenty-two scholars from across the University of California — including UC President Janet Napolitano — have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences' class of 2015. They are among 197 new members spanning academia, the arts, business and philanthropy.

“We are honored to elect a new class of extraordinary women and men to join our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, chair of the academy’s board of directors. “Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world. We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution.” 

This year's new members bring UC's total membership to 511. By campus and classification, they include:

  • UC Berkeley: Carlos J. Bustamante, interclass; John Clarke, physics; Alexei V. Filippenko, astronomy; John F. Harwig, chemistry; Enrique Iglesia, engineering sciences and technologies; and John MacFarlane, philosophy
  • UC Davis: Sharon Y. Strauss and Peter C. Wainwright, evolutionary and population biology and ecology
  • UC Irvine: Rubén G. Rumbaut, archaeology, anthropology, sociology, geography and demography 
  • UCLA: Ivan T. Berend, history; Barbara Kruger, visual arts – criticism and practice; Michael Mann, archaeology, anthropology, sociology, geography and demography; and Gregory R. Schopen, religious studies
  • UC San Diego: Patricia Smith Churchland and David Kleinfeld, neurosciences, cognitive sciences and behavioral biology
  • UC San Francisco: Joseph L. DeRisi, biochemistry and molecular biology; Frank P. McCormick, biological sciences; Robert L. Nussbaum, medical sciences, clinical medicine and public health; and James A. Wells, biological sciences
  • UC Santa Barbara: David R. Morrison, mathematical and physical sciences
  • UC Santa Cruz: Gail Hershatter, history
  • Systemwide: Janet A. Napolitano, educational, scientific, cultural and philanthropic administration